The Governor

The Governor

The governor is the constitutional head of the state and the same governor can act as governor of more than one state.


  • He/ She must be a citizen of India.
  • He/ She must have completed 35 years of age.
  • He/ She shouldn’t be a member of either House of Parliament or State Legislature must not hold any office of profit.


The Governor is appointed by the President of India. Article 156 states that the Governor holds office during the pleasure of the President.

List of Governor of India


Article 161 gives the Governor the power to grant pardons, reprives, remission of punishment to persons convicted under the state law.

Discretionary Power

Article 163 talks about the discretionary powers of the Governor, which is not provided to the President. Courts cannot question his discretion.

Article 171 states that in the State where Legislative Councils exist, the Governor can nominate some members from the field of , , science, cooperative movements, and social service.

Article 213 empowers the Governor to issue the ordinances during the recess of the state legislature.

State Legislature

Article 163 gives the right to the Council of ministers to aid are advised the Governor.

Article 165 gives an advocate general for each of the states.

Article 169 gift the right of abolition or creation of legislative councils in the state.

Currently, only seven states in India have legislative council Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, and Telangana.

Article 171 gives the right of the composition of legislative council unlike the members of the legislative assembly the members of the legislative council are indirectly elected. the maximum strength of the council is fixed at one-third of the total strength of the assembly and the minimum strength is fixed at 40.

  • 1/3 are elected by the members of local bodies in the state like municipalities district boards etc.
  • 1/12 are elected by graduates of three years standing and residing.
  • 1/3 are elected by the members of the legislative assembly of the state.
  • 1/12 are elected by the teachers of 3 years standing in the state not lower in standard than secondary school.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Study Worms Would you like to receive notifications on latest updates? No Yes

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker