United Nations Organisation (UNO)

United Nations Organisation (UNO)

The United Nations (UN) is an association of states which have pledged themselves to maintain international peace and security and co-operate in solving international political, economic, social-cultural, and humanitarian problems towards achieving this end.
Trygve Lie of Norway (1946-52) was the first Secretary-General of the UN.
Guterres of Portugal is the present Secretary-General of the UN.

National flags
National flags

Un Charter was signed by 50 members on June 26, 1945. Poland signed the charter later to become one of the original 51 member states. It officially came into existence on Pct6ober , 1945.

UN Charter

The Charter is the Constitution of the UNO and contains its aims and objectives and rules and regulations for its functioning.

Aims and Objectives

They are security, welfare, and human rights.


The headquarters of the UN is situated in New York


The flag is light blue in color, and emblazoned in white, in its center is the UN symbol- a polar map of the embraced by twin olive branches open at the top.

The flag of the United Nations was adopted on December 7
The flag of the United Nations was adopted on December 7

Official Languages

The official languages of the UN are: English, French, Chinese, Russian, and Spanish. However, working languages are English and French only.

Present Membership

At present 193 countries are members of the UNO. South Sudan is the latest entrant to this organization.

Main Organs of the UNO

There are six main organs:

  • General Assembly
  • Security Council
  • Economic and Social Council
  • Trusteeship Council
  • International Court of Justice
  • Secretariat

General Assembly

It consists of representatives of all members of the UN. Each member country has only one vote. It meets once a year and passes the UN Budget. It is the main place for discussions and policymaking in the UN.

Security Council

It is the executive body of the UN and is mainly responsible for maintaining international peace and security. It has 15 members, 5 of which (USA, UK, France, Russia, and China) are permanent members. The 10 non-permanent members are elected by General Assembly for a two-year term and are not eligible for immediate re-election.

Economic and Social Council

It has 54 members elected by General Assembly

Trusteeship Council

It looks after the interest of the people in areas not yet independent and leads them towards self-government.

International Court of Justice

It has 15 judges, no two of whom may be nationals of the same state. They are elected by the General Assembly and Security Council for a term of 9 years. The Court elects it’s President and Vice-President for a 3-year term.


It is the Secretariat of the UN and is headed by the Secretary-General.

Some Important UN Agencies

UN Agencies


Year of Establishment

United Nations Organisations (U.N.O.) New York 1945
International Monetary Fund (I.M.F.) Washington 1945
Health Organisation (W.H.O.) Geneva 1948
Food & Agricultural Organisation (FAO) Rome 1943
International Labour Organisation ILO) Geneva 1919
UNESCO Paris 1946
Universal Postal Union (UPU) Berne 1874
UNIDO Vienna 1967
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Vienna 1957
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) New York 1965
UNICEF New York 1946
International Maritime Organisation (IMO) London 1948
World Meteorological Organisation (WMO) Geneva 1951
International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Geneva 1947
World Trade Organisation (WTO) Geneva 1995
International Development Association (IDA) Washington 1960
World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) Geneva 1967

Famous International Organisations

International Organisations Headquarters

Year of Establishment

International Court of Justice The Hague       –
International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) Montreal 1947
International Finance Corporation (IFC) Washington 1956
Arab League Tunis 1945
Commonwealth of Nations London 1931
International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) Washington D.C. 1946
Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) Mecca 1971
European Economic Community (EEC) Geneva 1957
Red Cross Geneva 1863
Interpol Lyons 1923
Asian Development Bank (ADB) Manila 1966
North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO) Brussels 1949
Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) Jakarta 1967
South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) Kathmandu 1985
Asia- Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)        – 1989
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Paris 1961
Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) Vienna 1960
Common Wealth of Independent States (CIS Belarus 1991
International Olympic Committee (IOC) Switzerland 1894
European Union (EU) Brussels 1965
Amnesty International (AI) London 1961
Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)           – 2002

Related Articles

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Study Worms Would you like to receive notifications on latest updates? No Yes

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker